

## **Transportation Division**

24950 COUNTRY CLUB BLVD., STE. 340 • NORTH OLMSTED, OHIO 44070-5333 PHONE: 216-228-9400 • FAX: 216-228-5755 • www.smart-union.org/td/

JEREMY R. FERGUSON President

November 19, 2020

VIA EMAIL ONLY
All General Chairpersons and
State Legislative Directors,
Transportation Division

Dear Brothers and Sisters:

As the pandemic has once again exploded across the country in unprecedented numbers, so has the amount of reports we are receiving from our members. We felt it was important to remind everyone of the process we have put forth to ensure a timely response in our efforts to rectify these issues and concerns.

All COVID-19 reports submitted by the membership via the Transportation Division website are uploaded and made available in TD Connect. Once logged in, you will see a link labeled <a href="Attention: Check SMART TD's COVID-19 Reporting">Attention: Check SMART TD's COVID-19 Reporting</a> on your home page. Once that link is accessed, the interface will provide the following options to review each submitted report:

- Carrier type (Bus, Freight, Passenger, Transit)
- Carrier (Amtrak, BNSF, CN etc.)
- State

There are *begin* and *end* dates, however, the most recent report will be placed at the top if left blank. You may also select a specific Committee or Board in the upper right-hand corner underneath the users' name.

It is imperative that each and every one of us are attentive to these reports and are active in getting the issues properly addressed. As before, President Ferguson has assigned the following properties to the Transportation Division Vice Presidents to assist all General Committees and State Boards of jurisdiction.

NS	Vice President J.D. Whitaker
CSX	Vice President Jamie Modesitt
СР	Vice President J.D. Whitaker (with Vice President
	Chad Adams to assist)
CN	Vice President Joe Lopez
KCS	Vice President Brent Leonard
UP	Vice President Joe Lopez (with Vice President
	Brent Leonard to assist)
BNSF	Vice President Chad Adams
Short Lines both Passenger and Transit	Vice President Dave Wier
Bus	Vice Presidents Calvin Studivant and Alvy Hughes
State Legislative Director Coordination	Chief of Staff Jerry Gibson

All General Chairpersons and State Legislative Directors Page 2 November 19, 2020

We are also in the process of developing a new online safety form that will incorporate COVID issues. It is our hope this will be available in the near future, along with a new distribution process via email to the offices of jurisdiction.

Please make sure we are communicating to all involved officers to avoid duplicate efforts and to ensure a strong, uniformed approach and corrective process. Progress through unity.

Any questions or suggestions, please contact me.

Fraternally yours,

Jerry L. Giblson, Jr.

Chief of Staff - Transportation Division

cc: J. R. Ferguson, President - Transportation Division

Vice Presidents - Transportation Division

M. E. Dolin, Director of Administration - Transportation Division

J. J. Brandow, Executive Assistant to the President - Transportation Division

R. E. Leichliter, Administrative Assistant to the President - Transportation Division